Center for Mechanics of Solids, Structures and Materials


Home > News

Stelios Kyriakides Receives the Joe J. King Professional Engineering Achievement Award:

Professor Stelios Kyriakides of the Department of Aerospace Engineering and Engineering Mechanics at The University of Texas at Austin has been selected by the Cockrell School of Engineering to receive the 2016 Joe J. King Professional Engineering Achievement Award. The award, funded by Cockrell School alumnus Joe J. King, ME 1925, recognizes a faculty member who has made significant contributions in furthering the profession of engineering. Mr. King's education in engineering, his years of practice as an engineer and the rewards he received in his practice left him with an increasingly deep respect for the profession. This respect, along with his love for his alma mater, led him to establish the award.


IUTAM Prize in Solid Mechanics goes to Stavros Gaitanaros:

The 2016 Congress of the International Union of Theoretical and Applied Mechanics (IUTAM) was held in Montreal, Canada on August 21-26. This is a main event in mechanics held every fours years; this year the Congress was attended by approximately 2100 researchers. As is the custom, the presiding Bureau selected 3 young scientists for the Bureau Prize, based on their papers and their presentations at the Congress. To be eligible for the award, a presenter must be no older than 35 years of age at the time of the Congress, and must indicate that he/she wishes to be considered for the award. The recipient in solid mechanics was Dr. Stavros Gaitanaros, Ph.D. Engineering Mechanics, The University of Texas at Austin, 2014, presently assistant professor in civil engineering at Johns Hopkins University. The title of his paper and presentation was: "The effect of Polydispersity on the Crushing of Open-Cell Random Foams," by Stavros Gaitanaros, Stelios Kyriakides, Andrew M. Kraynik


Professor Krishnaswamy Ravi-Chandar has been selected to recieve the 2015 Daniel C. Drucker Medal, one of the ASME society awards for achievement. Instituted by the Applied Mechanics Division of ASME, the Drucker medal is conferred in recognition of distinguished contributions to the field of applied mechanics and mechanical engineering through research, teaching and service to the community over a substantial period of time. Congratulations!


Professor Kenneth M. Liechti has been selected to recieve the 2015 Award for Excellence in the Adhesion Society. The Adhesion Society's Award for Excellence, sponsored by 3M, is the Society's premier award for outstanding achievements in scientific research relating to adhesion. Congratulations!


Professor Nanshu Lu wins AFOSR Young Investigator Award to develop automated, expandable systems. Congratulations!


Graduate student Wei Gao has been selected to recieve a Max L. Williams Endowed Graduate Fellowship from the Cockrell School of Engineering for 2013-2014. Congratulations!


SES 50th Annual Technical Meeting and ASME-AMD Annual Summer Meeting, July 28 - 31, 2013


 The following presentations by CMSSM graduate students received recognition.

Conference SES 2013 Graduate_Student_Awards